HEAVY WATER Release Debut Album "Red Brick City" Feat. Saxon vocalist Biff Byford

Slathered in classic Rock ‘n’ Roll soul and soaked in gritty, hard-baked riffs, and topped off with rich, raunchy vocals… Welcome to Heavy Water and their debut album Red Brick City, the lockdown 2020 project between Saxon’s Biff Byford and his son Seb Byford, ten songs which bring you on an irrepressible rawblues-backed journey through influences and invention, a journey which has you hooked from the first note.

The foundations for Heavy Water’s sound are set in both that incredible father/son chemistry and a lifetime of know-how and experiences. Take the title track -and first single- ‘Red Brick City’: all steam and smoulder wrapped around a riff Soundgarden would’ve been proud of, and then there’s the sun-soaked smile of ‘Follow This Moment’ with harmonies evoking the Beach Boys relayed through Led Zeppelin, a gorgeous ‘70s trip right down to the fade out. Indeed, from the taut, elastic swing of the ‘Solution’ riff to the rich, layered balladic strains of ‘Tree in the Wind’, Red Brick City moves with the class and cadence of a cracking journey uniting vintage Rock ‘n’ Roll sensibilities with the crackle and excitement of a fresh, youthful perspective.

“We decided to do something together in these dark times and the family came together to help get this album off the ground” explained Seb and Biff.

Seb Byford recorded and engineered Red Brick City at the Big Silver Barn in York, UK, while the drums were recorded by Ben Hammond at Reel Recording Studio in York. Seb produced the album with Biff, and Jacky Lehmann mastered. Red Brick Citysees Seb take the reins on guitar and vocals, with Biff taking up the bass and vocal mantle. Tom Witts plays the drums, while Dave Kemp rounds out the Heavy Water line-up on keyboards and saxophone. A rich, lustrous ride through profoundly rewarding rock waters. To cap off this family affair, the packaging photos were taken by Steph Byford.

We had great fun doing this album, working together on the songs and recording during lockdown,” concluded Biff and Seb. “It’s all recorded without samples or profiles... just loud and proud!

So remember, on July 23rd 2021, there’s going to be a new Rock ‘n' Roll sheriff in town, and as their name suggests, Heavy Wateraren’t for the light-hearted. Dive in, and soak yourself in the purity of their music.

Red Brick City will be released on July 23rd 2021, via Silver Lining Music. Available as a CD Digipak, Coloured Vinyl Album, digital formats and special D2C bundles.For pre-orders, go to THIS LOCATION

Red Brick City Track Listing:

1. Solution

2. Turn to Black

3. Red Brick City

4. Tree in the Wind

5. Revolution

6. Personal Issue No. 1

7. Medicine Man

8. Follow This Moment

9. Now I'm Home

10. Faith

Seb ByfordGuitar and Vocals

Biff ByfordBass and Vocals

Tom WittsDrums

Keyboards and SaxophoneDave Kemp

Red Brick City Credits:

An album by Biff and Seb Byford

Recorded and engineered by Seb Byford at the Big Silver Barn, York

Drums recorded by Ben Hammond at Reel Recording Studio, York

Mixed and mastered by Jacky Lehmann (www.audiosound.de)

Produced by Seb Byford and Biff Byford

Photos by Steph Byford

Artwork by Enrique Zabala

Follow Heavy Water:

www.facebook.com/heavywatermusicofficial www.twitter.com/HeavyWater11 www.instagram.com/heavywatermusicofficial

Recent Posts