top of page

SingSong Music Reissue Midnight Flyer "Midnight Flyer"

Here’s a welcome reissue for the sole album release by a British blues rock ‘super-group’ of the early 1980s.

Fronted by one of the finest female vocalists the UK has ever produced, Midnight Flyer was made up of vastly-experienced musicians, pooled from the cream of British rock talent in Stone The Crows, Streetwalkers, Whitesnake, Savoy Brown, Foghat, Hudson Ford, Jim Capaldi and Leo Sayer among many others.

Formed in 1980, the line-up consisted of Maggie Bell (lead vocals), Dave Dowle (drums), Anthony Glynne (guitars), Tony Stevens (bass guitar) and John Cook (keyboards), who left soon after this recording to be replaced by Chris Parren.

An inevitably popular live act, Midnight Flyer supported Bob Seger and the Silver Bullet Band on their ‘Against the Wind’ European Tour. January 1981 saw the band supporting AC/DC on a number of dates on the European leg of their ‘Back In Black’ Tour.

The ‘Midnight Flyer’ album was released on Led Zeppelin’s Swan Song label in February 1981, followed in March by a single, ‘Rough Trade’ b/w ‘Midnight Love’.

Featuring all original material written by each band member, the album shone even brighter on the strength of its antecedents: being recorded at Ringo Starr’s Startling Studios at John Lennon’s Tittenhurst Park, with Mott The Hoople’s Mick Ralph on production duties.

Midnight Flyer split in 1982 after the closure of Swan Song. Its members went to forge further career highs with artists as diverse as Mike Oldfield, Renaissance, Kiki Dee, Asia and Roger Chapman, leaving behind this fabulous recorded legacy.


  1. Hey Boy

  2. Love Games

  3. French Kisses

  4. In My Eyes

  5. Over And Over

  6. Last Resort

  7. Do You Want My love

  8. Sweet Loving Woman

  9. Whatever I Want

  10. Midnight Love

  11. Rough trade

  12. Rock ‘N Roll Party

  13. Waiting For You


Prior to formation in 1980, its members had notched the likes of Stone The Crows, Streetwalkers,Whitesnake, Savoy Brown, Foghat, Hudson Ford, Jim Capaldi andLeo Sayeramong many others onto their belts. In short, Midnight Flyer was made up of vastly experienced musicians who, post its demise, continued to work with the cream of British rock.The band constituted Maggie Bell(lead vocals), Dave Dowle(drums), Anthony Glynne(guitars), Tony Stevens(bass guitar) and John Cook(keyboards).

The line-up complete, the band entered into a lengthy period of rehearsal in preparation for recording this, their debut album, for Led Zeppelin’s Swan Songlabel (Bell already being signed to it as a solo artist). Starling Studioshad been built by Ringo Starr atTittenhurst Parkin Ascot. Previously owned by John Lennon, thetwenty-six room Georgian mansionand 72-acre estate boasted an eight-track recording studio and is best remembered for the recording of Lennon's 'Imagine'album in 1971. Maggie Bell recorded her 'Suicide Sal'album at Starling Studio in 1974: so there was ‘history’.‘Midnight Flyer’featuredall original material with songs written by each band member. TonyStevens and Dave Dowle contributed three songs apiece. There was a John Cook composition anda co-write with Bell in'Rough Trade'which was to be an album highlight. Ant Glynne also wrote a song with Maggie and two others with Dave Dowle. Production duties were handled by Mick Ralphs (Mott The Hoople,Bad Company).After the album was completed, John Cook moved on and returned to playing sessions, to be replaced by Chris Parren. Towards the end of the year,Midnight Flyer took to the roadsupportingBob Seger and the Silver Bullet Band's 'Against the Wind' European Tour kicking off withtwo dates at the Wembley Arena before moving on to shows in Paris, Munich, Frankfurt, Brussels, Rotterdam, Hamburg and finishing in Dussledorf on 6th December. The tour a huge success from the off, the band founds itself starting 1981 supporting AC/DCona number of dates on the European leg of its'Back In Black' Tour. Taking over from Whitesnake, Midnight Flyer played shows in Spain, Belgium and France. 'Midnight Flyer' was released in February to be followed in March by a single, 'Rough Trade'b/w 'Midnight Love'.

‘Midnight Love’ US promoThe band played a number of European dates including an appearance at the Montreux Jazz Festival on the 8th July, 1981, on a bill with Albert Collins, John Lee Hooker, Magic Slim andTaj Mahal. In November, Midnight Flyer wasasked to support AC/DC on a long-legged North American tourspanning November, 1981 to Februarythe following year. Midnight Flyer, Stateside, 1981, with crew,label reps, familyThe 'For Those About To Rock' Tour, as it was known, played at mostly big arenas including New York's Madison Square Garden, the Spectrum in Philadelphia and the Cow Palace in San Francisco. At the time of the tour Maggie Bell told the American press that opening for AC/DC on the first night of the tour at Detroit's Cobo Hall had been a pretty frightening experience before going on stage, but stressedhow helpful the headlinershad been. "They've been very kind, letting us use their P.A. system and their lights. They're a modest bunch of guys off stage; they've been around for ten years now and they deserve their success," s

Recent Posts


bottom of page