top of page

SMACKBOUND Release Debut Album “20/20”

Smackbound is a new hard rock/metal band from the robust and acclaimed Finnish music scene, who today have released their debut album, "20/20" on Frontiers Music Srl. Featuring musical elements from hard rock and metal combined with powerful, driving songs, impeccable musicianship, and stunning vocals from Netta Laurenne, Smackbound is a band to watch out for!

To accompany the release of their album, Smackbound are pleased to present their video for the song “Closer to Sober.”

Watch it HERE:

Frontwoman Netta Laurenne comments on the video:

”The video was shot in Gran Canaria, during the massive ”Calima” sandstorm in February 2020. It was so stormy that the sea literally washed away a lot of the lights and other equipment that the crew had to run after to salvage. Even I got swept away towards the depths of the roaring sea a couple of times and the crew considered tying a robe to my ankle to be able to reel me back to the shore. With eyes and lungs full of sand, you can witness a real struggle that fits the song’s mood perfectly as the song tells about the agony of trying to get over someone who has already moved on with their lives while you still struggle to let them go emotionally.”

Smackbound's story started back in 2015 when singer and actress Netta Laurenne founded the group. You may have heard her before on guest spots with Amorphis, Lordi, Black Sun, and Elvenking. She is a classically trained singer who has also studied pop/jazz and folk singing. And yes, she is also an actress. Guitarist Teemu Mäntysaari was the first to join the line-up and soon followed Rolf Pilve on drums, Vili Itäpelto on keyboards and Tuomas Yli-Jaskari on bass. [Collectively, they have experience in well respected metal bands like Wintersun, Stratovarius, The Dark Element, and Tracedawn.] The band immediately started writing their own songs, but to get their live chemistry flowing, founded a cover band "Run for Cover" to be able to play gigs right away and turn Smackbound into a well-oiled live machine.

The band launched with a string of successful singles and videos including the debut “Drive It Like You Stole It,” the energetic “Wall of Silence,” and "Run”. All the singles are included on the band’s debut, "20/20".

The album was recorded at Sonic Pump Studios, produced by Tuomas Yli-Jaskari mixed and mastered by Jesse Vainio (Sunrise Avenue, Apocalyptica, Poets Of The Fall).

Recent Posts


bottom of page