Please reload

Recent Posts

VANDENBERG releases official lyric video for the song "Skyfall"

The official lyric video for the song "Skyfall" from the new lineup of VANDENBERG can be seen below. The track is taken from the band's upcoming studio album, titled "2020", which will be released on May 29 via Mascot Records / Mascot Label Group. Led by master guitarist Adrian Vandenberg, the Dutch foursome released three quality albums during the early to mid-'80s, namely, the self-titled 1982 debut (spawning the U.S. hit single "Burning Heart"), "Heading For A Storm" (1983) and "Alibi" (1985).


Vandenberg stated about "Skyfall": "'Skyfall', another track from our upcoming VANDENBERG '2020' album! Lyrically, there's a bit of a symbolic connection to the times we are all in right now. Although the line 'I'll be right beside you' would violate the social distancing rule. Don't hesitate to turn it up and let your neighbors rock out with you, whether they choose to or not."

Vandenberg has had an impressive career. He was a member of WHITESNAKE for 13 years at the height of their fame, contributing the solo on their No. 1 hit "Here I Go Again". He spent many years duelling with Steve Vai on guitar and has returned for many reunions. He was part of supergroup MANIC EDEN, and more recently released a number of albums with VANDENBERG'S MOONKINGS.


The guitarist pulled a master stroke by bringing in Chilean-born Ronnie Romero on vocals, a singer who forged a formidable reputation over past years with Ritchie Blackmore's RAINBOW.

"I needed an incredible singer in order to make the use of the VANDENBERG name make sense and Ronnie more than fits the bill," Adrian said. "We got chatting through Facebook, and I asked him if he'd be interested in being in the band. It turns out he is a big fan, as I am of him, so we met in Madrid, where he lives, to see if we could get along, and we really connected.


"As soon as I knew Ronnie was on board, I wrote the songs to suit Ronnie's amazing vocal capabilities," he continued. "We then met up again in Madrid to demo songs using my iPad, which is the way I do things."


Romero himself recalls the importance of Adrian Vandenberg on his career: "The reason why I started singing when I was in my teens is when I heard the live acoustic album 'Starkers In Tokyo' by David Coverdale and Adrian Vandenberg. So, you can imagine that I am very excited and honored to be the vocalist for the band VANDENBERG."


The rhythm section for the new lineup features bassist Randy Van Der Elsen (of NWOBHM heroes TANK) and drummer Koen Herfst (BOBBY KIMBALL, EPICA and DORO). Vandenberg says: "Koen has been voted Holland's best hard rock drummer now for several years. He has the sort of fire in his belly that would make any greats such as John Bonham and Ian Paice smile. Randy was highly recommended to me and has a lot of experience. Like Koen, he is a brilliant musician." There are also two celebrated guests on the album, namely bassist Rudy Sarzo (WHITESNAKE, OZZY OSBOURNE, QUIET RIOT, DIO) and drummer Brian Tichy (WHITESNAKE, OZZY OSBOURNE, FOREIGNER, BILLY IDOL).


"2020" was produced by Bob Marlette (BLACK SABBATH, ALICE COOPER, MARILYN MANSON, ROB ZOMBIE). Vandenberg explains the choice: "I went to Los Angeles to meet a few potential producers. Bob was one of these, and his melodic-yet-hard-rocking approach fitted in well with what I was after and we had a great connection right away. We spent three weeks working at Bob's own studio in L.A., and then I spent a little more time finishing things at my home studio."

The complete track listing includes "Shadows of the Night", "Freight Train", "Hell And High Water", "Let It Rain", "Ride Like The Wind", "Shout", "Shitstorm", "Light Up The Sky", "Burning Heart - 2020" and "Skyfall". The album will be available as a limited CD box set, on LP, and via digital alongside all streaming services.


While nine of the songs here were freshly written by Vandenberg himself, there's one track that will be familiar to all fans. This is a new rendering of "Burning Heart", perhaps the band's most famous anthem. What VANDENBERG offer throughout the album is melody, drive, power and class. "Fasten your seat belts, just when you thought all was safe, VANDENBERG are back!'" the guitarist explains. "I can't wait to take our band to the stages everywhere!" says Romeroexcitedly.

"I believe the vibe we have with this turbo charged lineup is wonderful," concludes Vandenberg. "We are not at all a nostalgia act, trying to recreate what happened all those years back. This is a brand-new dynamic band with a name that has a legacy and I couldn't be happier with the way it's turned out."


"2020" track listing:


01. Shadows of the Night 
02. Freight Train 
03. Hell and High Water 
04. Let It Rain 

05. Ride Like The Wind 
06. Shout 
07. Shitstorm 
08. Light Up The Sky 
09. Burning Heart - 2020 
10. Skyfall 



Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Please reload

Please reload