top of page

LOUDNESS "Live in Tokyo" Album Review

Loudness has been dominating the worldwide heavy metal scene ever since their birth in 1981 with classic albums like "THUNDER IN THE EAST" (1985 / #74 US national chart) and "LIGHTNING STRIKES" (1986 / #64 US national chart). Hits like "Crazy Nights", "In The Mirror" and "Crazy Doctor" made them one of the most exciting Metal Acts in the mid 80's and saw them touring amongst all with Mötley Crüe in '85 incl. Being the first Japanese band ever playing at the legendary Madison Square Garden in New York!

In September of 2018, an event called "Metal Weekend" was held at the famous Zepp DiverCity Tokyo. LOUDNESS headlined the event for four nights in a row alongside guest bands such as RIOT V and ANTHEM, making every evening a huge success. The DVD was recorded during these parties.

The set on CD 1 is based on the setlist from LOUDNESS's legendary North American tour from 1985, while CD 2's songs mainly base on songs from LOUDNESS's third album, "The Law Of Devil's Land", and fourth album, "Disillusion".

If you've never had the opportunity to catch Loudness in a live setting, then this is a great jumping off point. They are on fire from the get go and keep the pedal to the metal from the opening track "The lines are down" to the closing number "Loudness". Akira Takasaki is a guitar God and shines all throughout the "Live in Tokyo". The tracks everyone knows like "Crazy Nights", "Heavy Chains", and "S.D.I." are just ripping but there's plenty more to love. If you're a fan of Loudness or a just a fan of great live music then this one is a no brainer.

Track List:

Disc: 1

1. The Lines Are Down

2. Crazy Nights

3. Like Hell

4. Heavy Chains

5. Get Away

6. We Could Be Together

7. Loudness

8. In the Mirror

9. Crazy Doctor

Disc: 2

1. In the Mirror

2. The Law of Devil's Land

3. Black Wall

4. Sleepless Night

5. Speed

6. Crazy Doctor

7. Milky Way

8. Ares' Lament

9. Dream Fantasy

10. Esper

Disc: 3

1. 8118 (Instrumental)

2. Soul on Fire

3. I'm Still Alive

4. Like Hell

5. Heavy Chains

6. The Sun Will Rise Again

7. Go for Broke

8. Ares' Lament/Until I See the Light

9. Kama Sutra (Instrumental)

10. Crazy Doctor

11. In the Mirror

12. S.D.I

13. Crazy Nights (With Riot V)

14. Loudness (With Masayuki Suzuki)

LINE-UP Akira Takasaki: guitar Masayoshi Yamashita: bass Masayuki Suzuki: drums Minoru Niihara: vocals

#LOUDNESS #AlbumReview

Recent Posts


bottom of page