top of page

DIAMOND HEAD releases 'The Sleeper' Lyric Video

DIAMOND HEAD have released a lyric video for the song "The Sleeper". The track is taken from the band's latest album, "The Coffin Train", which was released in May via Silver Lining Music.

The disc's fourth single, "The Sleeper" is epic, commencing with calm and sober vocals that build into a poignant and powerful riff and chorus that takes the listener on a dark, reflective journey.

Vocalist Rasmus Bom Andersen comments: "It's such a big-sounding track that it almost takes you on a cinematic journey. 'The Sleeper' is a follow-up to 'Silence' off the last record. We had fans who loved the orchestral elements and I wanted to give them some more. It was inspired by a favorite sci-fi movie from my childhood."

Adds guitarist Brian Tatler: "Starting life in 2016 with the main riff, I decided to demo it and see if I could make it into a song. With a bit of work this grew into a powerful monster with Ras's lyrics inspired by the 1984 film 'Dune'. It's very moody and dynamic with brilliant orchestration."

"The Coffin Train" was recorded at Vigo Studios in Walsall, Circle Studios in Birmingham and Raw Sound Studio in London, and is the second DIAMOND HEAD album to feature Rasmus Bom Andersen, who joined the band in 2014.

"Rasmus is a big part of why the album, and band, sound like we do," said Tatler. "He has a fantastic vocal range, knows exactly what to do with his voice and is incredibly knowledgeable about it.

"All along, we wanted to make sure we didn't lose sight of what we call 'The Brief.' I would never want to deny our NWOBHM style and sound; that's what originally got me excited and DIAMOND HEAD noticed. And I still enjoy the creative journey we go on."

Formed in 1976 under the riff-rolling leadership of guitarist Brian Tatler, DIAMOND HEADwould quickly establish themselves as a vanguard of the exploding New Wave Of British Heavy Metal scene. With their genre-defining debut album "Lightning To The Nations", DIAMOND HEAD has influenced and opened gates for many metal bands.


Brian Tatler - lead/rhythm guitars Rasmus Bom Andersen - vocals Karl Wilcox - drums Andy "Abbz" Abberley - rhythm/lead guitars

Dean Ashton - bass, backing vocals


Recent Posts


bottom of page