top of page

MERCYFUL FATE Guitarist HANK SHERMANN Releases 'The Bloody Theme' Solo Single

MERCYFUL FATE guitarist Hank Shermann has released a new solo single, "The Bloody Theme". The track, which was mixed by Tue Madsen, features guest appearances by vocalist Nicklas Sonne (DEFECTO) and drummer Bjarne T. Holm (MERCYFUL FATE).

A new full-length album from Shermann is tentatively due this fall.

Back in 2015, Shermann told Metal Wani that he would love to make "a final, cool album" with MERCYFUL FATE. "Maybe we could do some special selected shows — that could also be an option — but it needs to be [done at the right time]," he said. "But, you know, I'm sure it will happen at some point. It would be a shame if it didn't."

The band's last studio album, "9", was released in 1999.

MERCYFUL FATE will be remembered for its unquestionable mark on the history of metal with its innovative sound, complex arrangements, memorable melody, and its influence on bands that later took the genre to new heights.

In 1998, METALLICA paid tribute to MERCYFUL FATE by recording a medley of classic MERCYFUL FATE songs on the album "Garage Inc." Titled "Mercyful Fate", the medley included parts from "Satan's Fall", "Curse Of The Pharaohs", "A Corpse Without Soul", "Into The Coven" and "Evil".

Lars Ulrich of METALLICA — a fellow Dane — played drums on a new version of MERCYFUL FATE's "Return Of The Vampire" on the "In The Shadows" album, which came out in 1993.

Recent Posts


bottom of page