top of page

FLOTSAM AND JETSAM: Lyric Video For New Song 'Control'

The official lyric video for the song "Control" from Arizona metal veterans FLOTSAM AND JETSAM can be seen below. The track is taken from the band's upcoming 14th album, "The End Of Chaos", which will be released on January 18 via AFM Records.

The album will be available as a digipak, on clear orange, gatefold vinyl (limited to 450 units), black gatefold vinyl (limited to 450 units), limited picture vinyl (limited to 500 units), gold black splatter gatefold vinyl and limited boxsets with T-shirts.

Vocalist Eric "A.K." Knutson told Capital Chaos TV about the new disc: "There's 12 songs on the record. This was [whittling] down from 40-something songs these guys wrote for me to put lyrics on, and we had to quickly go through all of them and go, 'Which ones capture our attention the most?' Those are the ones we concentrated on. There was just great song after great song after great song coming to my house every other day, and I'm like, 'Wow, how am I going to keep up with this?' It worked out pretty good."

Added guitarist Michael Gilbert: "We used to have a certain template that we'd write. Now, we're writing more for this guy to sing a heavier, more memorable chorus for people. You're always learning as a songwriter, trying to achieve the perfect chorus that someone's going to remember after the song's over. If you've got that going, then you've [written] a successful song."

Continued Eric: "Things have evolved a little more catchy with our songwriting, but not really on purpose too much. It was just as we evolve and our tastes and our loves in music evolve, so does our writing. I really like the direction we're going now."

FLOTSAM AND JETSAM recently officially welcomed Ken Mary (ALICE COOPER, ACCEPT) as the band's permanent drummer. Mary began touring with the group in 2017 after Jason Bittner was invited to join OVERKILL.

"This album kills! It's all five guys with the gas pedal pushed to the floor for the entire album!" stated Mary.

Added bassist Michael Spencer: "It was cool to have a new element of influence on this album with having Ken's drum parts to partner with and play in and around his playing that also do with the guitars and vocals. Glad to have had Jacob Hansen bringing this album to the overall sound and energy it has. Jacob really highlights A.K.'s vocal melodies, as well as Steve and Michael's songwriting, while the power of the rhythm section drives the songs."

"The End Of Chaos" track listing:

01. Prisoner Of Time 02. Control 03. Recover 04. Prepare For Chaos

05. Slowly Insane 06. Architects Of Hate 07. Demolition Man 08. Unwelcome Surprise 09. Snake Eye 10. Survive 11. Good Or Bad 12. The End

After a successful North American tour last year in support of Swedish power metal giants HAMMERFALL, FLOTSAM AND JETSAM will return to the road for a trek across North America, continuing its "Tour Of Chaos 2019".

Recent Posts


bottom of page