POWERWOLF official lyric video for the song 'Incense And Iron'

POWERWOLF will release their seventh album, "The Sacrament Of Sin", on July 20 via Napalm Records. The follow-up to 2015's "Blessed & Possessed" was recorded at Fascination Street Studios in Örebro, Sweden with producer Jens Bogren, who has previously worked with KREATOR, DRAGONFORCE, SEPULTURA and PARADISE LOST, among others.

The official lyric video for the song "Incense And Iron" can be seen below.

POWERWOLF guitarist Matthew Greywolf told Overdrive about "The Sacrament Of Sin": "I would say the approach was to expand the territory a bit. I think 'The Sacrament Of Sin' has become the most diverse POWERWOLF album with the most variation in the music and a lot of new elements in our sound. At the same time, I think it's become a pretty typical POWERWOLFalbum in terms of atmosphere and power and character."

"The Sacrament Of Sin" also contains POWERWOLF's first ever attempt at a power ballad in the shape of a song called "Where The Wild Wolves Have Gone".

"The idea of writing a proper ballad was growing for a lot of years," Greywolf told Overdrive. "I think it was some years ago that on one of the tours, I was confessing to Attila that I was a big fan of those classic rock and metal ballads and he was confessing the same, so we agreed that one day we would write a ballad, no matter what. But it never worked in the past. The fact that we did as a part of 'Blessed & Possessed' showed us we could go for that, and that we were ready for it. Because, I mean, back then we covered 'Edge Of Thorns' from SAVATAGE, where we had those verses based on piano and vocals; and that was the first time we tried that, and it sounded pretty great! So when we started writing 'The Sacrament Of Sin', I had that in mind and I was quite confident that we could realize that long-planned ballad this time. Luckily, it all came together very well and I think, for me personally, it's one of the highlights of the album, definitely."

"The Sacrament Of Sin" track listing:

01. Fire & Forgive 02. Demons Are A Girl's Best Friend 03. Killers With The Cross 04. Incense And Iron

05. Where The Wild Wolves Have Gone 06. Stossgebet 07. Nightside Of Siberia 08. The Sacrament Of Sin 09. Venom Of Venus 10. Nighttime Rebel 11. Fist By Fist (Sacralize Or Strike) 12. Midnight Madonna (bonus track; only available at EMP and Napalm Records mailorder)


Recent Posts