VINNY AND CARMINE APPICE To Release 'SINISTER' Album on October 27th, 2017

Vinny and Carmine Appice have united to record their first ever joint studio album, 'Sinister', which is set for release on Steamhammer/SPV on October 27th. 'Sinister', which includes a host of incredible guest musicians, will be available in several different formats and is available for pre-order at Amazon right here. For more than forty years, the brothers have been among the most sought-after and renowned rock drummers worldwide and are rightly classed as the most famous tub-thumping siblings in hard rock and Heavy Metal history.

Carmine was a founder member of Vanilla Fudge, Beck, Bogart & Appice, Cactus, Blue Murder and King Kobra and has also worked with Ozzy Osbourne, Ted Nugent and Rod Stewart, with whom he famously co-wrote 'Do Ya Think I'm Sexy'. His younger brother Vinny, who has been a member of Black Sabbath, Dio, and Heaven And Hell is currently drummer in Last In Line, with Vivian Campbell of Def Leppard. Apart from 2014s live album, 'Drum Wars - Live!', Carmine and Vinny had not worked together before: "We never really planned to make an album together until last year. We've always had plans to play live together, starting out with drum clinics. We both had very busy schedules and finally found the time to do shows together which led to the idea of making an album." The result is, as the Appices put it: "A great-sounding, spine-shaking rhythmic foundation, along with big giant melodic guitars from hell, and on top blazing vocals and melodies that will tear it all up!" 'Sinister', which features both new songs and classic tracks from their "long history in a crazy music business", contains a total of thirteen killer tracks, recorded: "As Ringo said: with a little help from our friends" (Vinny). ”

The vocals on 'Sinister' were contributed by Paul Shortino (Rough Cutt, ex-Quiet Riot), Robin McAuley (MSG), Chas West (ex-Lynch Mob), Jim Crean and Scotty Bruce, while Carmine himself doubles as singer on 'You Got Me Running'. Vinny states that "Carmine has been singing lead and background for years. He's a very good singer and I'’m glad he sang one number on this record." Celebrated guitarists on the album include Craig Goldy (ex-Dio, ex-Giuffra), Bumblefoot (ex-Guns N' Roses), Joel Hoekstra (Whitesnake), Mike Sweda (Bulletboys), Eric Turner (Warrant) and Daviud Michael Phillips (King Kobra). The outstanding bass players on 'Sinister' are Tony Franklin (ex-Blue Murder, ex-The Firm), Phil Soussan (ex-Ozzy Osbourne, Last In Line), Johnny Rod (King Kobra, ex-W.A.S.P.) and Jorgen Carlson (Gov't Mule). Keyboards were contributed by Erik Norlander (Lana Lane). On the subject of the two brothers separate drum styles, Vinny notes that: "We have similar grooves, fills and feels, but we approach things differently. I play heavier, fast and precise. Carmine plays more grooves and has a more melodic style."

Recent Posts